Nasdasdy
Pain Giver (55)
Honor: 0
[ Give / Take ]
Member of The Coven of Purgatory
Vampire Rave member for 16 years.
10:25:05 Oct 08 2008
Read 1,502 times

Does ANYONE know about absinthe? What is a good bottle to buy? I heard some brands are still illegal in the states. Is this true? I've heard the ban was lifted. I've heard the ban was partially lifted. What is the strongest bottle to buy? Will I infact see green fairies???? :) What is the "D-Lee-O"(i.e., deal)?

•  REPLY  •

MamaC
MamaC
Monstrosity (34)
[ Give / Take ]
Limbus Patrum (Coven) is a member of an Alliance

Member of Limbus Patrum (Coven)
11:41:33 Oct 08 2008
Read 1,498 times

Yes, I am quite curious on this topic also. I wish to bring some home with me although I have never tried it before. I thought it was illegal. I know they definitely do not sell it in stores at least here it NY but they may serve it at some places, legally or illegally I am unsure. I know many people have been buying it on the islands and bringing it home for years. Is it wise to declare exactly what the bottle is we're bringing back? Or should we just say "liquor" when we do our customs thing on the way home?

•  REPLY  •

tboro31
tboro31
Quadruped (33)
[ Give / Take ]

15:40:17 Oct 08 2008
Read 1,485 times

I bought a bottle of Absinthe in Albany, NY a few months ago. It tastes like licorice, similar to anisette. It didn't do anything special for me. I heard that Absinthe used to have opium or some other drug in it, and that's why it was banned in the US. I would definitely suggest trying it in the islands by brand before buying alot. I was disappointed.

Hopefully the ones we'll envounter on our cruise will be the "good" kind!

•  REPLY  •

HexAngel
HexAngel
Vexer (13)
[ Give / Take ]
15:51:02 Oct 08 2008
Read 1,481 times

I'm curious about this as well as I plan on bringing back a couple bottles. I had it before and LOVED it. Not sure if the ban was partial lifted or fully lifted. Would be good to know.

•  REPLY  •

Deatha